Not at all. On the contrary, citing sources actually helps your reader distinguish your ideas from those of your sources. This will actually emphasize the originality of your own work.
Whenever you borrow words or ideas, you need to acknowledge their source. The following situations almost always require citation:
SHOULD I CITE THIS?
There are (3) major citation styles used in academic writing:
There are two components of MLA Citation style:-
Work Cited page:-
The Works Cited page is the list of sources used in the research paper.
It should be its own page at the end of the paper. An MLA works cited page shows all the sources that were consulted and included in a project. Each source has a corresponding in-text citation within the paper.
In MLA, in-text citations are inserted in the body of your research paper to briefly document the source of your information. Brief in-text citations point the reader to more complete information in the Works Cited list at the end of the paper.
MLA format follows the author-page method of in-text citation. This means that the author's last name and the page number(s) from which the quotation or paraphrase is taken must appear in the text, and a complete reference should appear on your Works Cited page.
MLA style refers the style recommended by the Modern Language Association.
Founded in 1883, the MLA is a leading academic professional organization in the US that promotes scholarship of languages and literature.
The MLA also publishes its guidelines for documenting sources. Geared towards high school and undergraduate students, the MLA Handbook is in the eighth edition and came out in spring 2016.
MLA style provides writers with a system for cross-referencing their sources from their parenthetical references (in-text citations) to their “Works Cited” page (bibliography). This cross-referencing system allows readers to locate the publication information of source material.
When you're borrowing information from a source and placing it in your research or 
assignment, it is important to give credit to the original author. This is done by creating an MLA citation. Depending on the type of information you're including in your work, citations are placed in the body of your project and all are included in a "Works Cited" list, at the end of your project.
You may have heard the two terms, "Bibliography" and "Works Cited" thrown around interchangeably. The truth is that they are two different words with two completely different meanings.
A bibliography is a list of sources that the writer recommends for further reading. A works cited list is a list of sources that were included in the author's writing.
Want to suggest some books and websites to your reader? Create an MLA format bibliography by creating a list of full citations and label the page as "Bibliography."
Did you use any quotes or place any paraphrases in your writing? Create in-text citations and place them in the body of your work. Then, create a list of full citations and place them at the end of the project. Label the page as "Works Cited."
Access Date: The date you first look at a source. The access date is added to the end of citations for all websites except library databases.
Citation: Details about one cited source.
Citing: The process of acknowledging the sources of your information and ideas.
In-Text Citation: A brief note at the point in your paper where information is used from a source to indicate where the information came from. An in-text citation should always match more detailed information that is available in the Works Cited List.
Paraphrasing: Taking information that you have read and putting it into your own words.
Plagiarism: Taking, using, and passing off as your own, the ideas or words of another.
Quoting: The copying of words of text originally published elsewhere. Direct quotations generally appear in quotation marks and end with a citation.
Works Cited List: Contains details on ALL the sources cited in a text or essay, and supports your research and/or premise.